Surya Nepal Asha Social Entrepreneurship Award 2012

Celebrating entrepreneurs who create social, environmental and economic values

Juries and Advisers for SNASEA 2012

SNASEA 2012 has 11 Juries and 2 Advisers for this year’s award. These are the people who are making the SNASEA a reality. We would like to heartily acknowledge them for  their support and more importantly for their contribution and dedication towards our society.

The names and short profiles of the Juries and Advisers are listed below in alphabetical order:


Ms. Barsha Shrestha : Ms. Shrestha currently holds the position of General Manager in Clean Energy Development Bank. This bank has been serving the society and trying to create employment opportunities through  a separate division that  only deals with renewable energy projects and accounts.

Dr. Bijaya Bajracharya: Dr. Bajracharya currently works at  Micro-Enterprise Development Programme (MEDEP) at UNDP as a Programme and Policy Development Specialist.

Mr. Krishna Kharel: Mr. Kharel currently works at the Government of Nepal at the Ministry of Industry. He is the Technical Director of Department of Small Scale & Cottage Industries. He was the former Director at the Business Incubation Program.

Mr. Kunda Dixit: Mr. Dixit is the Founder, Editor and Publisher of the Nepali Times, and Co-publisher of Himal magazine. He is also an avid blogger and traveler who loves traveling in Nepal and using his strong presence in social media and web 2.0 to bring the issues relating to environment, development, society and culture, among many others, to the forefront.



Ms. Laxmi Sharma: Ms. Sharma is the Founder of Laxmi Wood Craft Udhyog . This Udhyog exports buttons and other hand-crafted products throughout the world. Laxmi makes sure to dedicate more than 5% of her profits for social welfare activities.



Mr. Narayan Sapkota: Mr. Sapkota is the SNASEA 2011 award winner for his wonderful work through Vijaya Development Resource Center(VDRC). He is one of the founders of VDRC. It has over its 31 years of existence mainstreamed different dimensions of development under one umbrella encompassing education, media, microfinance and various other thematic areas.


Ms. Rita Thapa: Ms. Thapa is the founder of TEWA and Nagrik Awaz.  In 1996, Thapa came up with Tewa, which promotes localized philanthropy for self-reliant development in Nepal, particularly with respect to grassroots women, and which has now become a model the world over. And Nagarik Awaz, since its establishment in 2001, has been providing support to thousands of people whose lives have been turned upside down by the fallout of the Maoist insurgency in Nepal.


Prof. Mr. Subash KC:  Prof. KC is currently the Faculty and Dean at Kathmandu University School of Management (KUSoM). His areas of specialisations include Human Resource Management/Development, Organisational Behaviour and Organisation Development.




Mr. Tikajit Rai : Mr. Rai is the founder of Magnus Consultancy. Magnus Consulting Group Pvt. Ltd., founded in 2004, is an Information and Communications Technology (ICT) company that operates as a social enterprise ( with a significant focus on rural farmers) which generates its own finaicial resources to engage in developmental activities in communities and offers range of services to its clients and strategic partners.


Mr. Upendra Adhikary:  Mr. Adhikary currently works as a Joint Secretary at the  Ministry of Women, Children & Social Welfare, Government of Nepal

Mr. Upendra Dhungana: Mr. Dhungana currently is the  Deputy Registrar at the Department of Cooperatives.


Mr. Anil Chitrakar: Mr. Chitrakar is an Engineer and Energy Planner who has received the Ashoka fellowship, the Rolex Award and the Silicon Valley Tech Award for his work. He is a renowned Social Entrepreneur and also the Co-founder of Himalayan Climate Initiative.


Mr. Ashutosh Tiwari:  Mr. Tiwari is the WaterAid’s Country Representative for Nepal. He is also a co-founder of Entrepreneurs for Nepal, which brings together entrepreneurs for discussions, networking activities, bootcamps, and investments.  His areas of expertise include SMEs, entrepreneurship, non-profit management, water, development and public policy.



Supporters and integral part of SNASEA Team:

Ms. Catrin Froehlich : Ms. Froehlich is a Corporate social responsibility (CSR)expert at National Business Initiative. She also contributes a lot of time to writing articles, many of which have appeared in National Dailys in Nepal too.

Mr. Gautam SJB Rana : Mr Rana is the Executive Chairman of Babermahal Revisited. In 1995, building on what used to be the cowsheds and guard-house of Baber Mahal, Mr. Rana created a spectacular complex combining the various architectural styles developed during the Rana period, turning it into a virtual architectural museum. This space has seen a lot of events and ceremonies over the years since then.

One comment on “Juries and Advisers for SNASEA 2012

  1. Pingback: 27 Semi Finalists Announced « Surya Nepal Asha Social Entrepreneurship Award 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: